Walking

My thoughts were heavy 
in the early day,
I went walking
to pass time away,
Hands in my pockets 
wind in my hair,
Everything was moving
but the thoughts that were there,
I saw the sun shining
on a window pane,
Through the blur in my eyes
that had started to rain,
Reflecting back seeing
the way things had gone,
Some of them right
some of them wrong,
Children there playing
were wearing no shoes,
Guilt leaked in
to tromp on my blues.
Young lovers passed me
hand in hand,
I thought of that moment
when love is so grand,
An old couple helping
each other along,
We all are just looking
for a place to belong,
I turned around slowly
Started for home,
Felt somewhat lighter
A bit less alone,
The old church bell
was beginning to chime,
And I’d found my way
just one more time…

©   DiAnne Ebejer 

About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Walking

  1. karenselliott says:

    The only couple helping each other along…that really got to me, knowing that I’m growing old alone 😦 Very nice, DiAnne.

    Like

Leave a Reply

