Easy Friend

Have I lost my easy friend?
The one I’ve had since childhood
in a ritual of all that is predictable?
Has my heart become too wrinkled now?
To feel any life but only through squinted
eyes that are my own?
Am I weeping only for my own toys?
And the sudden despair of fragile
hopes forever lost?
I’ve memorized my easy friend –
upon demand and when needed,
The strength of the chain
never yielding –
always holding fast.
I do not want to walk
terrified and alone,
Haunted by my wins and sins,
Making fruitless points to no one.
I need my easy friend,
who knows my words before I speak,
And puts that stamp of love
on my soul.
No, I have not lost my easy friend.
One can not lose an easy friend…
They are forever tattooed on the heart.
©  2012  DiAnne Ebejer
About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Easy Friend

  1. Tonia Marie Houston says:

    I have an “easy friend”, bless her soul. She’s amazing, and I think she would appreciate this poem as well. I’m so glad to find you, a brilliant poet and kind lady. Poets are hard to come by. 🙂

    Like

  2. ontheplumtree says:

    I also love this. Beautifully expressed, DiAnne. I have an easy friend. I am married to him. My daughter is also my easy friend. True friendship is the most precious of all things.

    Like

  3. True friendship is indeed a special and rare gift and one I don’t take lightly. Thank you for reading and commenting Niamh…

    Like

Leave a Reply

