Grandma’s Willow Tree

It was under Grandma’s willow tree
I could always just become me,

It was many summers past and many seasons ago
I’d always run for comfort there – a safe place I could go,

It was there I would flee from all things scarry
And dream of the princes that I would marry,

Many things were wished for there and very large dreams made
I told the tree of big futures and the best of plans were laid,

Her willow winds always blew promises no matter how bleak the day
As I huddled there under her vastness I’d always find my way,

She sat at the rear of the family homestead right on the edge of of town
It never occurred to me growing up that willow would ever come down.

Yet the homestead was sold to the city plus the land upon which everything sat –
Including Grandma’s willow tree – bulldozed in the drop of a hat!

Though my memories of that willow tree are nothing short of sublime
What I wouldn’t give to sit under her branches just one more time.

© 2012 DiAnne Ebejer

About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Grandma’s Willow Tree

  1. There is magic indeed beneath the weeping willow, the fronds of which, caress imagination.

    Like

  2. tolbert says:

    I had a little corner in a little room that i hunched my little body and dreamed my little dreams…i love the imagery here dianne and i too remember the willow trees…and even now i wish the little room existed but like your willow tree, progress prevailed and my little room was flattened like cardboard…in fact, i now remember…it was cardboard and my dreams died in the corner…i love what you wrote dianne…

    Like

  3. Uncle Tree says:

    The willow breathes magic, and sighs tranquility.

    That was a well-written tribute to your Grandmother, DiAnne.
    I pray you have a peaceful day. Nice to meet you! 🙂 Uncle Tree

    Like

  4. (That this turned out to be my most viewed poem of 2012 just goes to show you that people do view your poems without necessarily liking or commenting on them…don’t really know if page views then is a really good marker of popularity or not then….hmmm, food for “thoughtsy” as my friend Jessica McHugh would say….. 🙂

    Like

  5. Mike says:

    This is a particularly tender poem. To find safety and love which would allow for great play and dreams. That is what grandparents and childhood should be about. Lovely.

    Like

  6. Reblogged this on Thought You Might Like This… and commented:

    For three years going now this continues
    to be the favorite poem on “poetry and then some” so thought I’d post it here. Not sure if its the poem or the willow tree! Ha!”

    Like

  7. When I was young, my Dad planted a mountain ash. It arrived attached to a what looked like part of a stem of a tree. Several weeks after planting the mountain ash, he had to move it. The stem had begun to sprout. It turned out to be a beautiful weeping willow. The mountain ash took up residency in the front yard and the willow kept guard in the back year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

