Moss Covered Rocks

It’s been years since I’ve seen you,
but I’m still wondering,
if you’re ever going to leave…
I can still take a deep breath,
and smell you.
It’s as if you’re sitting next to me
on that stoop,
The one you left me sitting on,
all those years ago.
This was after you had
whispered your intoxicating charms
like river water rushing over moss
covered rocks –
When the last of my will had floated away
with a falling leaf.
After that, the sacrificial web
was firmly spun.
But all good intent did not
our needs relieve.
So yes, I’m still wondering
If you’re ever going to leave…
©

 DiAnne Ebejer
About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Moss Covered Rocks

  1. Trent Lewin says:

    That’s beautiful. And vivid enough that I don’t think you even need the photo.

    Like

  2. Thanks very much Trent. A very nice compliment. Thanks for reading and commenting.

    Like

  3. I love your cameos.,,as this is what they are…unique story/poems, a snippets of your intense privacy, that when you share, draws us all into soul moments.

    Like

  4. cherduncombe says:

    “Moss Covered” is such an apt description, DiAnne, of people who put indelible marks in our hearts, even as they leave. Beautifully done!

    Like

  5. A quite delicately intimate poem of a mystery not answered, maybe never. Beautifully told. Your image is a power place, a brook surrounded by the mysterious, where mystical, magical occurrences could possibly emerge. Love all of this creative post.

    Like

  6. Wow. I like that slow, staccato pace of the of the poem. Is this deliberately in the Rhapsodic style? high emotional construction and irregular pattern, meter and style. I often write rhapsodies I find they are a fantastic way to deal with complex emotional ideas. I love the flow of this poem. I love it when i read poetry and i can hear the cadence, a metronome in my head. I love the balance.
    “When the last of my will had floated away
    with a falling leaf.” That is such a graphic image I really love it. I love the idea of making intangible things tangible it sets the masters against the wanna-bes in my opinion. xx James

    Like

  7. Oh my James, you have left me, yes me, speechless! Thank you so very much for this!
    DiAnne

    Like

Leave a Reply

