Happiness

Happy Poem  1
I used to think happiness was having a Tiny Tears doll and watching her
beautiful lashed eyes slowly opening and closing, crying “real tears”‘ as
I held her close to comfort her.
~
In the city, it was Christmas storefront displays; the children turning round and
round, their happy faces aglow with the anticipation of all that was to come. 
This brought a sense of happiness and warmth flowing over me; a child myself.
~
Back then I could always find happiness under Grandma’s giant willow tree
where I would seek solace from the raw world buzzing outside its boundaries,
and maybe get a big warm piece of blueberry pie with ice cream.
~
Soon happiness took the form of a quirky little caterpillar who took up residence
within me struggling ever so hard to free itself from its cocoon in an effort to
discover the wonders of “puppy love”. 
~
Later a beautiful butterfly of first love would  burst upon the scene and happiness
would blossom into full bloom and would become sneaking out of family reunions to
hold hands and steal kisses behind Uncle Fred’s barn oblivious to the world around us. 
~
And so happiness continued to take its form in learning and self discovery, family,
friendships, lovers, children, grandchildren and the many special events intertwined
with all of these. Funny how many times perceptions of happiness change in one lifetime.
~
But isn’t it grand that no matter the unhappiness we may experience, there exists a
pathway to look back and rediscover the many recollections of happiness. Not always
easy to remember; not always easy to do.
~
© 2013 DiAnne Ebejer
About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happiness

  1. As always, DiAnne, your thoughts are succinct, down to earth and wonderful in thought provoking simplicity. Thank you for sharing your memories.

    Like

  2. I look for that happiness when I was a child. With my grandma, you touched that happiness nerve. Just before I woke up today I was spending time with my grandma. It was one of those nights that “I see dead people,” which to me, if they are people I love, that is a happiness thing. Now as I think about it, I am not certain what happiness actually is. Is it those moments when the world and/or your world brings you a feeling of contentment and/or joy? It is something I think I want to spend more time with understanding. The philosopher or psychologist is coming out in me. I’ll get back to you on this. 🙂 jk

    Like

Leave a Reply

