Dad’s Ukulele

~GIRL AND UKE from Cemetery of staglieno

It seems so far away
and yet so near
I can see my Dad’s face
so very clear…
 ~
Playing ukulele songs
he knew so well
Oh, the stories those
melodies did tell…
 ~
He sang about the girls
up on the hill
Something about a sister who won’t
and a sister who will…
 ~
He crooned about a bright
moon over Miami
He sounded like a nightingale
to me…
 ~
I can still smell his
Old Spice in the air
when I play games of make-believe
Dad gave me that old ukulele
Before this earth he had to leave…
 ~
It’s memories such as this
that fill and warm my heart,
And give each and every day
A brand new place to start…
 ~
© 2013 DiAnne Ebejer 
Note: When I saw this picture on “Cemetery of Staglieno” Page it inspired this poem. The image is by SaRaH-SiSi on devianart.com 
About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dad’s Ukulele

  1. Reblogged this on poetry and then some… and commented:

    My Dad would have been 101 last week if he had lived. He was a very special man. This is for him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

