Homeless Girl…

orphantrain1

She caught my eye that day looking out the train,

Seems she’d slipped in there to get out of the rain.

I stepped aboard with concerned curiosity,

There was no one on the train; just her and me,

I said, “Where are your people and are your okay?”

She replied she had no people and quickly turned away.

I ask her where she would go as it would soon be dark,

She said she and three like her were living at the park.

I wanted so bad to take the pain from her face

and put it far away in some other place,

Sit her down at a table with plenty to eat,

Buy some new sneakers to put on those feet,

I wanted to take her to a downtown store

and buy her things she never had before,

At that moment there was so much I wanted to be,

I wanted to take her home with me.

But in the end there was only so much I could do

For I would have had to go get the other three kids too.

My head was spinning in an uneasy debate,

Calling the authorities may bring them a worse fate.

So I gave her some money and got off the train,

And never ever saw that sweet girl again.

Please when you are prioritizing your list of charities,

Don’t forget the homeless kids in your own cities.

© DiAnne Ebejer

About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Homeless Girl…

  1. tolbert says:

    powerful poem and admonition DiAnne…

    Like

Leave a Reply

