I Wonder 

I WonderI wonder if the sun ever hungers

for the night it left behind?

Or is it just in cool darkness

we come to see the light again?

I wonder why my eyes can’t learn

to hide the sudden fears,

Or does courage desert  me

as loneliness descends?

I wonder why I want to stay

to feel as I have felt at other times,

Am I struggling to preserve

the frail integrity of a distant day?

I wonder why the rote demands

and ritual hands

arise to choke me,

Or are roots and destination

crawling over yesterday?

I wonder if the sun ever hungers

for the night it left behind?

© DiAnne Ebejer

About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Wonder 

  1. Uncle Tree says:

    A rather different and cool way of perceiving Time, DiAnne. 🙂 Nice work! Cheerz, Keith

    Like

  2. carol schiff says:

    DiAnne, I didn’t even know you had a blog….just found it on facebook! Love your work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

