Simple Pleasures

 

willow tree swing

I remember when the world

was made just for me,

A big awesome playground

full of simple pleasures,

Like swinging from Grandma’s

willow tree,

or baking mud pies in her old stove,

Jumping out of Uncle Fred’s hay loft,

teasing that big black bull he used to have.

That’s when 4th of Julys meant

pies and cakes at family reunions,

When people still celebrated

their independence.

And the only problem I had

was that my Tiny Tears doll

got broken and she couldn’t

cry real tears anymore . Tiny Tears Add Cries Real Tears

Then I remember when the world

was made just for my love and me,

A big awesome world to walk

in love and anticipation,

Like having a talk under Grandma’s

willow tree,

Or baking him a cake in her old stove,

Making out in Uncle Fred’s hay loft,

Ignoring that big black bull he used to have.

That’s when 4th of July meant

taking a slow walk by the creek,

Ducking out of family reunions,

Declaring our own independence,

And the only problem I had

Was convincing Dad that I

wouldn’t turn into a pumpkin

after midnight.Couple by creek


And now I’ve but to remember

When the world was made just for me.

Time in the guise of progress

came to claim life’s simple pleasures.

A new library sits on top of Grandma’s

willow tree,

And God only knows what happened

to that old stove.

The hay loft came down,

Uncle Fred died,

And so did that big black bull he used to have.

There’s no more family reunions

on the 4th of July,

and they don’t make Tiny Tears dolls anymore.

They buried that old stream

under a super highway,

And that old love is buried there too.

And all the old things have

turned brand new…

Simple pleasure come early,

And leave too soon.

© DiAnne Ebejer

 To all my celebrating friends, a very Happy Thanksgiving with many simple pleasures!    Simple Pleasures pic

About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

