Paragon of Purity

pargon of purity

There’s a vamp on the loose

dressed as a paragon of purity.

She’ll try to wear your face

and walk it to Martyrville.

Martryville’s a place where

you’ll overdose on do’s and don’ts

and after you’ve blown all your fuses 

you go to a Lady of Peace place

to make it all get better.

Here you’ll find you can sleep

even while you’re awake,

They’ll give you three squares a day and

all the stupor soup you care to drink.

You can visit the pool at 10:00  and 2:00

after all the pills have swallowed you whole.

If sitting numb in the sun seems trite,

You can go to arts and crafts,

or watch a movie on mind control.

And… when you get all better??

You can return to Martyrville –

But you won’t.    

©  DiAnne Ebejer

end of Lady of Peace Blog

About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paragon of Purity

  1. tolbert says:

    Nicely done DiAnne…I think I have been to Martyrville on more than one occasion and I always wondered, ‘who is that crazy woman pacing back and forth by the soda machine?’ I should have known though I dared not ask…your smile once gave you away…and now your words have denied your being there (by the Dr. Pepper crates) more fully than Peter denied Jesus in the garden. I like this a lot DiAnne and I”ll wait by the pool at 10 and 2 because I know you have so many new poems to float by those of us who thirst.

    Like

Leave a Reply

