A 4th of July Tradition…

Simple Pleasures 2016

Simple Pleasures

I remember when the world
Was made just for me,
A big awesome playground
Full of simple pleasures,
Like swinging from Grandma’s
willow tree,
or baking mud pies in her old stove,
Jumping out of Uncle Fred’s hay loft,
Teasing that big black bull he used to have.
That’s when 4th of July meant
Pies and cakes at family reunions,
When people still celebrated
their independence.
And the only problem I had
was that my Tiny Tears doll
got broken and she couldn’t
cry real tears anymore.

Then I remember when the world
was made just for my love and me,
A big awesome world to walk
In love and anticipation,
Like having a talk under Grandma’s
willow tree,
Or baking him a cake in her old stove,
Making out in Uncle Fred’s hay loft,
Ignoring that big black bull he used to have.
That’s when 4th of July meant
Taking a slow walk by the creek,
Ducking out of family reunions,
Declaring our own independence,
And the only problem I had
Was convincing Dad that I
wouldn’t turn into a pumpkin
after midnight.

And now I’ve but to remember
When the world was made just for me.
Time in the guise of progress
Came to claim life’s simple pleasures.
A new library sits on top of Grandma’s
willow tree,
And heaven only knows what happened
to that old stove.
The hay loft came down,
Uncle Fred died,
And so did that big black bull he used to have.
There are no more family reunions
on the 4th of July,
and they don’t make Tiny Tears dolls anymore.
They buried that old stream
under a super highway,
And that old love is buried there too.

All of the old things have
turned brand new…
Simple pleasure came early,
And left too soon.

© DiAnne Ebejer

DiAnne

A Happy 4th to all those celebrating today and a good day, year world to all of us!
DiAnne

About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A 4th of July Tradition…

Leave a Reply

