The Ya Ya’s – A Story

Ya Ya's

As the plane wheels hit the tarmac in Dayton I could feel the butterflies a-flutter in my stomach. Coming home always seemed to have this affect on me no matter how many years or tears ago the stories played out here that would shape the me that I had become.

Leaving my palm-fronded existence in Florida behind in the past had mostly been because someone was sick, or had died; two of which were to bury my Father, then my Mother, both after long illnesses.

This trip, however, was purely for pleasure. It was to be another gathering of the Ya Ya’s.
Yes, the Ya’ Ya’s.

We were a group of girlfriends that had been hanging out since we were ten years old; 5th grade I believe. We never actually had a real name before, (although I’m sure we’ve been called a few before) that is, until the movie “Divine Sisters of the Ya Ya Sisterhood” (2002) based on the book by Rebecca Wells.

If ever there was an appropriate name for us this was it, so we adopted it back then in 2002.

This gathering was to be only the second since the loss of one of our dear sisters which left us reeling in shock and sadness. But also we would be inducting our very first Ya Ya daughter into the blessed Ya Ya’s, another milestone, and historic chapter in our growing memoirs.

As I blankly looked out the plane window I pondered on the Ya Ya’s parallel lives and the different directions we had all taken. I thought of the many battles each of us had fought over the past fifty plus years; many of them hard struggles up a very ragged hill.  I also thought of the many joys and blessings we have had the good fortune to experience over the years since we had first joined together.

I wondered how many people still had friends from fifth grade…friends that they still got together with on a regular basis. I concluded probably not so many.

I began to recognize with renewed clarity and in earnest my true fortune for the gathering for which I was about to be a part. These are the Ya Ya’s, who have been there throughout all these many years – the friends of no pressure, asking nothing, judging nothing, just simply being there.

The laissez-faire Ya Ya’s – An apt description – So when we were to gather in just a few days from then I knew it would be as if no time had passed at all from last we had joined our hands together for the Ya Ya group hug.

And of course, I wasn’t disappointed.

This is Ya Ya Sisterhood – Truly Divine Sisters!

© DiAnne Ebejer

Note: As the Ya Ya’s relocated to various places, many of them the East and West Coasts of Florida, the meetings are much fewer and farther between these days but the spirit of the Ya Ya’s will live on in our hearts….

About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

