Going Home Revisited…

One I wrote after a trip home to Dayton in the fall. (originally posted October 2014)

going-home

From the time the wheels hit the tarmac

It seemed that everywhere I looked

I saw a gigantic picture of myself,

The eyes telling me that

I was certainly no stranger here.

Even though things had changed so much,

It was on every street I revisited

I found a certain little piece of my life,

As though I had left them there on purpose,

Just in case I would need reminding one day.

The air reeked with a certain familiarity

and all the autumn dressed trees seemed to be

smiling at me as I passed by.

Even the old house that I grew up in

seemed to acknowledge my presence,

As if to ask me where I had been

all these years.

The countryside looked as if

It had dressed up in October

just for this occasion.

I wondered why I had never

found it so beautiful before now,

And I thought about how many times

perceptions of beauty

change in one lifetime.

I stopped by to see some places and people

Who had meant something to me,

Some places and people stopped the motion

of things long enough

to make me feel as if I’d never left at all.

Laughter fell off me like autumn leaves,

And soon I was completely covered

In a blanket of my own smiles.

© DiAnne Ebejer

About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry By Me I. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

