Green Snake Face (a fun post for Friday)

green-snake-face

This is an older picture of my granddaughter Natalie who is now 10. We had been to the local art festival that day. A fun memory.

Green Snake Face….a true story.

All my life I’ve dealt with boys,
snakes and dirt instead of toys.
They knew my first name in the local ER,
Big wheels on toes, hair stuck in tar
I had two boys of my own that were wild as two boars,
Then I remarried and I got two boys more.

~
But then a very happy and wonderful surprise!
A son and daughter in law pregnant before our eyes.
I paced in that birthing room forward and back,
And at last came the baby,,,,,beautiful “Jack”!
I loved him so much I’ll have to say,
Girls just didn’t matter on that wonderful day.

~
But a couple of years later they “blossomed” once more,
I said, I’m not even going through that girl wish door!
But of course the “frills” were in the back of my mind,
And yay,  here came “Natalie”, a  one of a kind!
I honestly didn’t know quite how to act!
I thought I might break her as a matter of fact,
I bought dolls and pink blankets and girly things of all manner,
I even bought a “HOW TO” For Dumb Grammy planner.

~

I fixed up a room full of girly and more,
They loved to see me coming at the baby stores!
But as time passed we noticed through our joys,
The frill-girl started acting just like the boys!
I needn’t have stocked up on all that pink lace,
Cause we got us a Tom-girl with a green snake face.

© DiAnne Ebejer

nat-and-justin-with-fish

Natalie and Daddy, my son Justin

About DiAnne Ebejer

I am retired and live on the East coast of Florida where I spend much of my time reading, playing with photography and trying to write some "poetry and then some" at dianneebejer.wordpress.com. I care deeply about many things and wish there was much more love and compassion in this world today. I also have a part time blog "Thought You Might Like This" diannesthingsat.wordpress.com used for special projects and occasional things of interest
This entry was posted in Poetry by me II. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Snake Face (a fun post for Friday)

Leave a Reply

